The Vernon Lecture Fund

The Mt. Cuba Astronomical Foundation also administers the “Vernon Lecture Fund,” and awards an honorarium to an individual for contributions to astronomy and for delivering a public lecture on astronomical or related topics. The Vernon Lecture, named after one of the co-founders of the Mt. Cuba Astronomical Observatory, has been held annually at the University of Delaware since 1979.

Recent Vernon Lecture speakers and titles:

2017 Jane Rigby, Deputy Project Scientist for Operations - JWST, NASA

2017 : Jane Rigby

2017 Emily Rice, Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island, City University of New York

2017 : Emily Rice

2016 Dr. Mike Montgomery, Dept of Astronomy and McDonald Observatory, The University of Texas

2016 : Mike Montgomery

(click here to see a video of the lecture)

2016 Harry Shipman, Annie Jump Cannon Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Delaware

2016 : Harry Shipman

2015 Fergal Mullally, Kepler Science Officer, SETI/NASA Ames Research

2015 : Fergal Mullally

2014 Carolyn Porco, Imaging Science Team Leader, NASA Cassini Mission

2014 : Carolyn Porco

2013 Dr David Jewitt, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UCLA

2013 : Dr. David Jewitt

2012 Dr Mark Morris, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UCLA

2012 : Dr. Mark Morris

2011 Dr Greg Laughlin, Professor and Chair, Department of Astronomy, University of California at Santa Cruz

2011 : Dr. Greg Laughlin

2010 Captain Alan Bean, Retired US Navy, Apollo 12 Astronaut

2010 : Captain Alan Bean

2009 Dr. Alex Filippenko, Professor, University of California Berkeley

2009 : Dr. Alex Filippenko